Corporate Introduction

Founded by the Rt. Rev. Bishop R.O. Hall of the Anglican Church in 1949, the St. James’ Settlement started her work as a club for boys and girls in a temple in Stone Nullah Lane, Wanchai. It was then developed to a six-storey building to provide diversified services, which included children, and youth services, elderly services as well as rehabilitation services to the needy continuously since 1963. In 1987, the headquarter; a multi-service community centre was opened in Stone Nullah Lane so that the scope of services can further be extended. Since the first centre outside Wanchai (named Central and Western District Elderly Community Center) founded in 1990, there has been different service centers developed and located along the North coast of Hong Kong Island, from Western Belcher to Chai Wan Hing Wah Estate (II). In view of ever changing needs in the society, service centers have been found in the west of Kowloon and north of the New Territories. Up till now, there are altogether over 47 service points. By the end of 2011, there is about 1100 staff providing vast range of high quality welfare services for people of different ages and needs.


All along, St. James’ Settlement serves the community and needies, whom are kids, youngsters, families, mentally retarded people and elderly. We provide both community supports to residential care, from healthy to disabled persons’ services. Everyday, we serve more than 10,000 times of people in Hong Kong.


In addition to developing new services, the Settlement has been spending much efforts to maintain the quality of our existing services since the early days, we try out a lot of new service modes to meet the needs of the unserved in the community. In March 1996, this spirit is further consolidated with the introduction of “Total Quality Management” concepts into our system. This gives us a very solid foundation for revamping the Settlement ‘s Mission and Vision. In 1997, the Settlement was awarded the third prize in the “ Outstanding Agency Management Project Award” by the Hong Kong Council of Social Service and later in 2002 was awarded the Directors of the Year Awards in the category of Public/Not-for Profit Organization Boards by the Hong Kong Institute of Directors. The Settlement has launched a series of service integration and re-engineering since 2000 and has joined the Lump Sum Grant System of Social Welfare Department in 2003-2004.


The major source of funding support came from donation and the Church initially and it now comes from social welfare subvention. Besides, part of our income resources also gathered by charity agencies such as the Community Chest of Hong Kong, different organizations in Hong Kong and overseas as well as individual donations. The operation expenditure for the year 2010-2011 is about $422M.

 

 
A MEMEBER AGENCY OF THE COMMUNITY CHEST A MEMEBER AGENCY OF THE COMMUNITY CHEST

機 構 介 紹

聖雅各福群會由聖公會何明華會督及一班熱心人士於1949年創辦,最初於石水渠街北帝廟的一個偏廳開始兒童工作(聖雅各兒童會),其後於1963年在堅尼地道建成六層高會所(稱為舊大廈,現時仍在使用中),服務亦穩步地發展,並且漸趨多元化,由原有的兒童及青少年服務拓展至長者及復康服務。1987年建成現在位於石水渠街的總會,各項服務亦得到進一步發展。直至1990年開辦了第一個灣仔區以外的服務單位(現稱中西區長者地區中心)以後,陸續發展其他新服務單位,主要分佈於港島北岸,由西環寶翠園至柴灣興華村;由於服務需求殷切,近年亦於九龍深水埗及新界天水圍等地區設立服務中心,至今已有47個服務點,為不同地區人士提供服務。截至2011年底,本會共有約1100名職員。


時至今天,福群會每日服務超過一萬人次,他們包括幼兒、學童、青年人、成年人、長者及弱智人士;為不同需要的地區人士,包括健康及弱能人士,提供由社區支援至院舍照顧等多種服務。


除了拓展新服務,原有服務亦因應社會改變而不斷更新。為了配合服務的發展,本會的服務管理亦持續改進。1996年,本會推行「全面優質管理」,重新確立機構的使命及價值觀,並於1997年獲頒香港社會服務聯會主辦的「傑出機構管理計劃」銅獎;1999年李節街護老之家獲 ISO9001認證;2002年獲香港董事學會頒發「2002年度傑出董事獎」(公營及非牟利組織董事會)。而因應社會環境的改變,本會由 2000年開始進行一系列的服務整合工程,並在 2003 - 2004年度參與社會福利署的「整筆撥款」計劃,使服務資源的運用更具彈性。


本會的財政來源,開始時透過籌募及教會協助,其後獲政府資助;此外,一些團體如香港公益金、香港或外地的熱心人士和機構亦津貼及捐贈部份的經費。2010/2011年服務經費約四億二仟二佰萬港元。

 

 
香港公益金會員機構 香港公益金會員機構